You are here

Faculty/Staff

Darlene Hantzis, Ph.D. | Louisiana State University 
Chairperson
Professor of Communication 
Affiliated faculty in Women’s Studies 
Specializations: Performance and gender studies 
Gillum Hall 326 | (812) 237-3658 
Darlene.Hantzis@indstate.edu

 

Abram Book, M.S. | University of Illinois, 2008 
Lecturer in Communication
Specializations: Public speaking and interpersonal communication 
Gillum Hall 316 | (812) 237-4577 
Abram.Book@indstate.edu

Chad Clark, M.C. | University of Washington, 2003
Director of Syc Creations 
Lecturer in Communication 
Dreiser Hall 218 | (812) 237-3252
Chad.Clark@indstate.edu

Jane Compton 
Administrative Assistant II 
(812) 237-3430 
Jane.Compton@indstate.edu

Claudine Gaston 
Instructor in Communication
Gillum Hall 326 | (812) 237-3658 
Claudine.Gaston@indstate.edu

Philip Glende, Ph.D. | University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2010 
Director of Student Media 
Lecturer in Communication 
Specializations: Journalism and media history
Dreiser Hall 217 | (812) 237-8133 
Philip.Glende@indstate.edu

Rich Green, M.A. | Illinois State University
Director of WISU and WZIS radio stations 
Lecturer in Communication 
Dreiser Hall 219 | (812) 237-3984
Richard.Green@indstate.edu

Bryan Hayden, M.S. | Indiana State University, 1974 
Instructor in Communication 
Specializations: COMM 101 Introduction to Public Communication and radio broadcasting 
Gillum Hall 322 | (812) 237-4435 
Bryan.Hayden@indstate.edu

Lori Henson, Ph.D. | Indiana University, Bloomington 
Assistant Professor of Communication 
Specializations: Journalism and communication law 
Gillum Hall 324 | (812) 237-4467 
Lori.Henson@indstate.edu

Malynnda Johnson, Ph.D. | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2012
Assistant Professor of Communication  
Gillum Hall 323 | (812) 237-3778 
Malynnda.Johnson@indstate.edu

Brian Johnston, Ph.D. 
Instructor in Communication 
Specializations: Rhetoric and media studies
Brian.Johnston@indstate.edu

Leslie King 
Part-Time Administrative Assistant 
Gillum Hall 340 | (812) 237-3245 
Leslie.King@indstate.edu

Shana C. Kopaczewski, Ph.D. | University of Iowa 
Assistant Professor of Communication and Coordinator of Communication Internships 
Specializations: Interpersonal communication and media criticism 
Gillum Hall 327 | (812) 237-3220 
Shana.Kopaczewski@indstate.edu

Susan Kray, Ph.D. | University of Illinois 
Associate Professor of Communication 
Affiliated faculty in Women’s Studies 
Specializations: Media theory and criticism 
Gillum Hall 354 | (812) 237-3235 
Susan.Kray@indstate.edu

Martha Milner, M.Ed. | University of Virginia, 2006 
Director of Student Public 
Lecturer in Communication 
Specializations: Reporting, media writing, copyediting, and newspaper design 
Hulman Memorial Student Union 143 | (812) 237-3028 
Martha.Milner@indstate.edu

Jennifer Mullen, M.A. 
Instructor in Communication
Specializations: COMM 101 Introduction to Public Communication and COMM 368 Public Relations
Gillum Hall 312 | (812) 237-3221 
Jennifer.Mullen@indstate.edu

Michael Mutti, M.A. | University of Kassel, 2017​
Lecturer in Communication
Root Hall A165
Michael.Mutti@indstate.edu

Malissa Muyumba, M.A. 
Lecturer in Communication 
Normal Hall 331 | (812) 237-3910 
Malissa.Muyumba@indstate.edu

Terry Nelson, M.A. | Ball State University, 1978 
Instructor in Communication
Specializations: Journalism 
Gillum Hall 321 | (812) 237-3298 
Terry.Nelson@indstate.edu

Jeff Perkins, M.S. | Indiana State University, 1990 
Director of Sycamore Video
Specializations: Writing for broadcast media, television studio production, electronic field production, electronic news gathering, and film-style production
Dreiser Hall 218 | (812) 237-3234 
Jeffrey.Perkins@indstate.edu

Kathy Pine, M.A., M.S. | Indiana State University, 2008, and Full Sail University, 2010
Instructor in Communication
Specializations: COMM 101 Introduction to Public Communication and interpersonal communication
Gillum Hall 335 | (812) 237-3175 
Katherine.Pine@indstate.edu

Michelle Quist, Ph.D. | Nova Southeastern University, 2017
Lecturer in Communication
Gillum Hall 318 | (812) 237- 
Michelle.Quist@indstate.edu

Natasha Rascon, Ph.D. | University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, 2014 
Instructor in Communication
Specializations: Conflict management and health communication
Gillum Hall 325 | (812) 237-3919 
Natasha.Barnett@indstate.edu

Libby Roerig, M.A.
Temporary Instructor in Communication
Gillum Hall 104 | (812) 237-3790 
Libby.Roerig@indstate.edu

Neil Singleton, M.A. 
Lecturer in Communication 
Specializations: COMM 101 Introduction to Public Communication 
Gillum Hall 350 | (812) 237-7637 
Neil.Singleton@indstate.edu

Tim Tesmer, M.A. | Indiana State University
Part-Time Lecturer of Communication 
Gillum Hall 319 | (812) 237-3184 
Tim.Tesmer@indstate.edu

Haijing Tu, Ph.D. | University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 2009 
Assistant Professor of Communication 
Specializations: Research methods, social network analysis, and digital media production 
Gillum Hall 317 | (812) 237-4610 
Haijing.Tu@indstate.edu

Richard C. Vincent, Ph.D. | University of Massachusetts, Amherst 
Professor of Communication 
Specializations: International communication and mass media
Gillum Hall 328 | (812) 237-3246 
Richard.Vincent@indstate.edu

Kevin Ward, M.A. 
Instructor in Communication
Specializations: COMM 101 Introduction to Public Communication
Gillum Hall 315 | (812) 237-4438 
Kevin.Ward@indstate.edu

Linda WelkerPh.D.
Assistant Professor
Gillum Hall 353 |(812) 237-3253 
Linda.Welker@indstate.edu

Bryan-Mitchell Young, Ph.D. | Indiana University, 2014 
Lecturer in Communication 
Specializations: Communication and culture 
Gillum Hall 320 | (812) 237-4595 
Bryan.Young@indstate.edu