Center for Student Success

Academic Highlights







*        Spring 2005, 56% (165/295) of student-athletes are on the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll (3.0+ semester GPA), the eleventh consecutive semester maintaining 55% or higher on the honor roll.  (See chart.)



          *        Overall, student-athletes have a mean cumulative GPA of 3.04 after the spring semester.



          *        58% (170/295) of all student-athletes have a

                   3.0 or higher cumulative GPA.


          *        49% (54/111) of female student-athletes have a 3.5 or higher cumulative GPA after spring 2005; 77% of all female student-athletes had a 3.0 or higher semester GPA.


          *          Women’s Tennis (6/6) had 100% of team members above the 3.0 semester mark in spring 2005, highest among all ISU athletic teams.  On the men’s side, Cross Country topped the charts with 63% of student-athletes on the honor roll.



          *          Women’s Tennis had the highest team cumulative GPA with a 3.67 after the spring 2005 semester; both Women’s Basketball and Volleyball followed with a 3.59.


          *          Showing improvement in team cumulative GPA from the fall was Women’s Soccer, jumping from 3.20 to 3.34.  Men’s Track also improved from a 2.89 team GPA in the fall to a 2.95 this spring.



          *        Improving in percentage of team members on the honor roll in spring 2005 was Men’s Basketball with 60%, up from 47% in fall 2004.


          *        The Missouri Valley and Gateway Conferences will recognize 146 ISU student-athletes for Conference Honor Roll (MVC = 3.20 or higher semester GPA; Gateway = 3.00 or higher).


          *        Jessica Crowder, Women’s Cross Country, was selected as the female recipient of the Missouri Valley Conference’s Dr. Charlotte West Scholar-Athlete Award.


          *       In the past year, five ISU athletic teams have been ranked nationally due to their academic successes.  These teams include:  Women’s Basketball, Women’s Soccer, Women’s Track, Women’s Tennis, and Volleyball.


          *        Both Women’s Soccer and Women’s Track earned the number one academic ranking among all Division I programs!


                             *             Indiana State University student-athletes captured the Missouri Valley Conference Academic Excellence Award for the second straight year for having the highest GPA among conference schools.


*          Seven members of the Football team were selected to the Gateway Football Conference All-Academic Team.  Tom Brillhart, Jake Shields, Kyle Hooper and Phillip Johnson were named to the first team; Fred Freitag was selected to the second team; and honorable mention recipients were Jon Ferber and Kyle MitchellBrillhart and Shields were also honored by being named to the 2004 COSIDA Academic All-District Five First Team for the third consecutive year.


          *          Aaron Harding and Jordan Fife, Men’s Cross Country, were named to the 2004 MVC Scholar-Athlete Team.  This was the third straight year Harding was selected and second for Fife.


*       For Women’s Soccer, Nichole Tiggs was selected to the MVC Scholar-Athlete Team, while for the second consecutive year Ashlie Voerg earned a spot on the Honorable Mention Team.  Tiggs was also named to the 2004 COSIDA Academic All-District Five First Team.




*             Laura Engle, Women’s Cross Country, was named to the MVC Scholar-Athlete Team.



          *        For Volleyball, seniors Kristin Widmar and Kelly Spisak received selections to the 2004 MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team


*        Three members of the Women’s Basketball team were named MVC Scholar-Athletes.  Melanie Boeglin took first team honors for the second consecutive season, Lisa Verhoff received a selection to the second team and Stephanie Lisch garnered honorable mention status.


*        Jerod Adler was named to the MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team, while David Moss received second team accolades and Tyson Schnitker was an honorable mention recipient, for Men’s Basketball.  This is the third consecutive year Adler has been honored.


*        For Baseball, Chris Schmidt was selected to the Scholar-Athlete First Team, while Jake Eigsti earned honorable mention honors for the second consecutive season.


*        Senior Lacey Frankland and sophomore Jackie Chomicki, Softball, took Scholar-Athlete First Team honors.


*        Magda Narczewska became the first ISU women’s tennis player to earn Scholar-Athlete first team honors for three consecutive years.


*        ISU topped the MVC for the second straight year with 19 scholar athletes.  The women’s honorees included:  Jessica Crowder, Laura Engle, Carol Linneweber, Felicia Price, Dani Prince, Melyssa Reinhardt, Santia Spight, Randi Stephens, Yolanda Wright and Jillian Yorn.  The men’s list included:  Jason Carruthers, Logan Edwards, Jordan Fife, Aaron Harding, Chad Jackson, Paladin Jordan, Todd Lange, Vincent Mason and Charles Sparks.



          *        The following ISU student-athletes were honored as 2005 Arthur Ashe Sports                                Scholars: Meghan Pollard, Volleyball, First Team; Nichole Tiggs, Soccer, First                             Team;           Yolanda Wright, Track and Field, First Team; Russell Coleman, Football,                         First Team; Frederick Quarles, Football, First Team; John Jackson, Football,Second Team; and Chad Jackson, Track and Field, Second Team.