Chemistry and Physics Alumni

We'd like to hear from you! Stay connected with the Department and your former ISU classmates. Send an e-mail to Eric Glendening at eric.glendening@indstate.edu to update your information. Include the year you graduated, your employer and job title or description, home address, and e-mail address.

Departmental Newsletter

If you haven't been receiving the annual spring departmental newsletter, we may not have your current mailing address. To have your address added to the newsletter mailing list, send an email to Eric Glendening.
2013 Newsletter
2012 Newsletter
2011 Newsletter
2010 Newsletter
2009 Newsletter
2008 Newsletter
2007 Newsletter
2006 Newsletter

What are they doing now?

Check out these SHORT BIOS that describe the careers of recent ISU chemistry grads.

Alumni Contact information

Year Graduate Contact Information
2008 Ying Chau (Allen) Liu (BS) Missouri University of Science and Technology
St. Louis, MO 63146
yl6pc@mst.edu
2007 Erica Miller (BS) Waters Corporation, Field Service Engineer
Greenville, SC 29615
Erica_Miller@waters.com
  April Manning (minor) Eli Lilly, Senior Specialist Supply Chain
Clinton, IN
manningapril@hotmail.com
2006 Justin Hadar (BS) BASi, Bioanalytic Operations analyst II
Lafayette, IN 47906
jhadar@basinc.com
  Rebecca Hadar (BS)
(Coates)
BASi, Bioanalytic Operations project manager I
Lafayette, IN 47906
rhadar@basinc.com
2005 Benjamin Chastain (BS) IU School of Medicine
Terre Haute, IN
benchastain@hotmail.com
  Chris Edwards (BS) Roche Diagnostic
Analytical Meteorologist
Fischers, IN
christopher_jazz@yahoo.com
  Rebecca Bauer (BS)
(Blila)
Family Medicine Resident Physician at St. Joseph Regional Medical Center
beccaannrose@aol.com
  Chris Gleckler (BS) Newport Chemical Depot
Assistant Lead Chemist
Newport, IN
Gleckler.Christopher@parsons.com
  Carrie Marusek (BS) IU School of Medicine
Terre Haute, IN
carriemonica@hotmail.com
  Erin Oelker (BS) Arizona State University
Graduate Student
Department of Chemistry
Tempe, AZ
cryzygrl12@yahoo.com
2004 Mike Denton (BS) Theoris Life Sciences
Pharmaceutical Validation Consultant
Indianapolis, IN
mdenton@theoris.com
  Lauren Dixon (BS)
(Heemer)
Praxair Surface Technologies
Chemist
Indianapolis, IN
Lauren_Dixon@Praxair.com
  Rebecca Fagan (BS) Department of Biological Chemistry
Graduate Student
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
becca_lee82@yahoo.com
  Shawn Mattingly (BS) Medical Student
IU School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN
shawnmatt81@yahoo.com
  Ivana Peralta (BS) Department of Chemistry
Graduate Student
Rice University
Houston, TX
iperalta@rice.edu
2003 Dominique Dempah (BS) IU School of Medicine
Gary, IN
dempahdominique@hotmail.com
  Dustin Ellis (BS) IU School of Medicine
bigel@excite.com
  Ryuji Hayashi (BS) University of Wisconsin
Postdoc
School of Pharmacy
Madison, WI
ryuji200x@hotmail.com
  Julia Kiefer (BS) IU School of Dentistry
Indianapolis, IN
juliadkiefer@hotmail.com
  Amy Lane (BS) Georgia Institute of Technology
Graduate Student
Department of Chemistry
and Biochemistry
Atlanta, GA
amy@volunteerstories.com
  Lindsey Ledford (BS) Purdue School of Pharmacy
Doctor of Pharmacy Program
West Lafayette, IN
llledford@hotmail.com
  Heather Nichols (BS) IU School of Medicine
Bloomington, IN
musnic9@hotmail.com
  Jacob Pong (BS) IU School of Medicine
jacob_j_p@hotmail.com
  Kris Thompson (BS) University of Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine
Kansas City, MO
kris_t5@yahoo.com
2002 Kofi Afriyie (BS) Janssen Pharmaceutica Co.
Indianapolis, IN
afriyiekofi@hotmail.com
  Braionna Barber (BS)
(Boston)
Ampacet Corporation
Development Engineer
Terre Haute, IN
bbarber@ampacet.com
  John Beerbower (BS) St. Francis Hospital Family Practice Residency Program
Beech Grove, IN
sleepmumbler98@yahoo.com
  Erika Craig (BS) Medical University of South Carolina
Pharm.D. Student
Charleston, SC
eleecraig@hotmail.com
  Keyna Martinez (BS)
(Langhofer)
IU School of Medicine
Gary, IN
smilingduo@yahoo.com
  Robert McGee (BS) IU School of Medicine
Terre Haute, IN
robertm80@hotmail.com
  Aaron Meier (BS) Arkansas-Oklahoma Center for
Space and Planetary Science
Graduate Student
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
ameier@uark.edu
2001 Nicole Bonham, O.D. (BS)
(Hinshaw)
Optometrist
Brazil, IN
nilah_hinshaw@yahoo.com
  Matthew Strange (BS) EG&G Technical Services, Crane Operations
Chemist
Crane, IN
strangerml@yahoo.com
  Sha Joshua Ye (MS) University of Utah
Graduate Student
Department of Chemistry
Salt Lake City, UT
joshua_ye@yahoo.com
2000 Erin Bennett (BS)
(Roe)
Covance CLS
Account Manager
erin.bennett@covance.com
  Andrew Chandler (BS) IU School of Medicine
Graduate Student
Indianapolis, IN
ChandleaAC@netscape.net
  Valerie Kempf (BS)
(Martin)
Duke University
Graduate Student
Department of Chemistry
Durham, NC
valerie.kempf@duke.edu
  Xiaorong Lu (MS) Code Plus, Inc.
Senior software engineer
2810 Old Lee Hwy.
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: 703-280-7893
lxrong@hotmail.com
  Dr. Chris Mullins (BS) Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Division of Natural Sciences
Campbellsville University
1 University Drive
Campbellsville, KY 42718
Office: Carter Hall 318
Campus Box 900
Phone: 270-789-5041
Webpage: www.campbellsville.edu/csmullins
csmullins@campbellsville.edu
  Thomas Tsai, O.D. (BS) Dr. Thomas Tsai, O.D., PLLC & Associates
Dumfries, VA
thomastsai@doctor.com
1999 Michael Backfish (Physics BS) Fermi National Accelerator Lab
Batavia, Illinois
mbackfish@yahoo.com
  Sean Cook, DDS, MSD (BS) Just for Kids Pediatric Dentistry
PO Box 206
Newburgh, IN 47629
drcook@jus4kids.com
  Jennifer Gatsos-Walter (BS) Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Patient Care Pharmacist
Philadelphia, PA
gatsosj@yahoo.com
  Dr. Matthew Hancock (BS) Albemarle Corporation
Senior R&D Chemist
Dayton, OH
Matthew_Hancock@albemarle.com
  Sarah Owens (BS)
(Boyce)
Ampacet Corporation
Development Engineer
Terre Haute, IN
sowens@ampacet.com
  Matthew Vannette (Physics BS) Assistant Professor of Physics
Saginaw Valley State University
mvannett@svsu.edu
1998 Dr. Tony Shrout (BS) P.A. Technologies
Cofounder
Amherst, MA
als@patechllc.com
1997 Dr. Timothy Durham (BS) Lilly Research Laboratories
Research Scientist
Discovery Chemistry Research
Lilly Corporate Center
Indianapolis, IN
durhamti@lilly.com
  Dr. Zhili Li (MS) 3M Company
Senior Pharmacist
Drug Delivery Systems Division
St Paul, MN
zli@mmm.com
  Travis Roberts (BS) National Starch and Chemical Co.
Laboratory Manager
Indianapolis, IN
travis.roberts@nstarch.com
  Jeffrey Simon (BS) Bristol-Myers Squibb
Associate Research Scientist
New Brunswick, NJ
jeffrey.simon@bms.com
1994 Roland Ridge (BS) Senior Beverage Technologist
Frutarom
ridge_roland@yahoo.com
1993 Keith Collins (BS) Quality Assurance Technical Compliance Supervisor
Schwarz Pharma
Seymour, IN
kcollins@schwarzusa.com
1990 Michelle Whiteman (BS)
(Scott)
Advance Project Engineer
Delphi Corporation
Delphi Electronics and Safety
FIB Lab
mlwhiteman2@aol.com
1989 Timothy Templeton, O.D. (BS) Green Valley, AZ
1985 Dr. Evan House (BS) Advanced Materials & Power Systems
Altair Nanotechnologies, Inc.
Director
Reno, NV
ehouse@altairnano.com
1983 Dr. Ricky Kendall (BS) Group Leader, Scientific Computing
National Center for Computational Sciences
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Oak Ridge, TN
kendallra@ornl.gov
1982 Beth Shively (BS) U.S. Air Force (civilian) retired
Punta Gorda, FL
bshiv99@gwu.edu
  Steven Walker (Physics BS) Ordained minister and lead pastor
The Turning Pointe United Methodist Church
Evansville, IN
bikepast@mac.com
1980 Cindy Fuchs (BA)
(Yatsko)
National Institute of Allergy
and Infectious Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Technology Development Manager
Bethesda, MD
cfuchs@niaid.nih.gov
  Kathy Wall (BS)
(Hanning)
Benedictine University
Chemistry Instructor
Lisle, IL
klhwall@comcast.net
1978 Emil Fleck (Physics BS) Evansville, IN
esfleck@evsc.k12.in.us
  Kris Grauer (BA) Alberdingk Boley, Inc.
Technical Marketing Manager
Greensboro, NC
kgrauer@alberdingkusa.com
  Christine May (BS) (Walker) Daytona Beach Crime Laboratory
Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement
Senior Crime Lab Analyst
christinemay@fdle.state.fl.us
1977 M Austin Carr (BS) Eli Lilly and Company
Assistant Senior Organic Chemist
austin_carr@lilly.com
  Vincent DiNoto (Physics BS) Jefferson Community & Technical College
Dean of College & Systemic Initiatives
Louisville, KY
vince.dinoto@kctcs.edu
1976 Mary Branham (Physics BS) Aerospace research and development, staff physicist
Northrop Grumman
Redondo Beach, CA
physics.mark@roadrunner.com
1972 Paul Catt (BA) Senior Chemist
Valero Energy Corporation
St. Charles Refinery
Norco, LA
Paul.Catt@valero.com
1971 Michael (Mick) McCombs (Physics BS, MS) Retired from electrical engineering and radio frequency semiconductor design and development
Fountain Hills, AZ
azmick1@cox.net
  Francis Tenbarge (BA) Scottsdale, AZ
ftnbarg@hotmail.com
1967 Leslie J. Jardine Russian Projects Leader
Fissile Material Programs
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Livermore, CA
jardine1@llnl.gov
1951 Rupert Beall Jones Sacramento, CA
elrbjones@yahoo.com