Postcards1001
If you received a post card from
postcards@postcards1001.com
with the message of: "You have just received a virtual postcard from
a family member!.You
can pick up your postcard at the following web
address:.
http://www2.[addressremoved]/?a91-valets-cloud-31337"
It is a virus e-mail. Please do not click on any of the included links
as they will infect your computer with a virus.
Updated by: Andrea at
9:14 pm on December
12, 2005
Sober Virus
The Sober virus generates e-mails that appear to come from legitimate
sources such as Department@cia.gov, Admin@fbi.gov,
info@rosefurniture.com and many others.
The body of the message may claim to have "logged your IP-address on
more than 30 illegal Websites."
Urges the recipient to read the attached file. The attached file is
infected with the virus.
Updated by: Andrea at 7:29
pm on November
21, 2005
Sober and Bagle Variant
Another virus variant generates e-mails with subjects such as
"Your_Password" and "Registration Confirmation".
Urges the recipient to read the attached file. The attached file is
infected with the virus.
Updated by: Andrea at 7:29
pm on November
21, 2005
Mytob virus sending as "the Indstate support team"
The Mytob virus (a MyDoom Variant) generates e-mails that appear
to come from legitimate sources such as support@indstate.edu,
administrator@indstate.edu, info@indstate.edu, register@indstate.edu,
mail@indstate.edu, and accounts@indstate.edu.
The body of the message may claim your e-mail account has been sending
out spam or that your computer has been infected/compromised.
In many cases, the e-mails will be signed with "The isugw.indstate.edu
support team" or "The Indstate Support Team". Please note: We
do not send e-mails out with this signature.
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 4:20pm
on October 17,
2005
A few of the known Phishing Scams of September/October 2005
The financial institutions listed below have been the object of
Phishing attacks frequently in the last month (September/October 2005).
[full
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 3:04
pm on October
17, 2005
Fraudulent E-mails Circulating
The following are examples of Fraudulent E-mail reported by ISU's
faculty and staff:
E-mail that appears to be sent from Amazon with a subject of "Chase
Corp. Consumer Notice"
E-mail that appears to be sent from Harris Bank with a subject of
"Update Your Information"
These e-mails are false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 4:31 pm on October
5, 2005
Comfed and Chase Bank Fraudulent
E-mail Circulating
E-mail that appears to be sent from Comfed Bank with a subject of
"Comfed Bank Online Upda" (it may have random characters after) is a
fraudulent e-mail.
E-mail that appears to be sent from Chase Bank (service@chase.com) with
a subject of "Notice" is a fraudulent e-mail.
These e-mails are false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
The help desk has received several reports of this e-mail being received
by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Please note that most banking institutions will not send e-mail asking
you to submit your personal and/or financial information.
Updated by: Andrea at 7:31
pm on October
4, 2005
Part-Time Job Opportunity Scam
Circulating
An e-mail that appears to be sent with a subject of "Part-Time Job
Opportunity" is a scam.
The e-mail is false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
The help desk has received several reports of this e-mail being received
by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 5:00
pm on
September 12,
2005
Fraudulent E-mails Circulating: Sky
Bank
An e-mail that appears to be sent from Sky Bank with a subject of
"Account Information Update" is a fraudulent e-mail.
The e-mail is false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
The help desk has received several reports of this e-mail being received
by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 8:28
pm on August
26, 2005
Fraudulent E-mails Circulating:
Amazon, Sky Bank, and LaSalle Bank.
An e-mail that appears to be
sent from "AMAZON NOTICE: Sercurity Account Update", "Notification of
LaSalle Bank Internet Banking Account" and "Notification of Sky Bank
Internet Banking Account", "System maintenance: update your Federal
Credit Union" (possibly sent from "eBay Safe Harbour"), are fraudulent
e-mails.
These e-mails are false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
The help desk has received several reports of these e-mails being
received by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 7:48
pm on June
15, 2005
New Mytob
virus sending as "the Indstate.edu support team"
The Mytob virus generates e-mails that appear to come from legitimate
sources such as support, administrator or info. The body of the message
may claim your e-mail account has been sending out spam or that your
computer has been infected/compromised. In many cases the e-mails will
be signed with "the isugw.indstate.edu support team".
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 7:00pm
on June 13,
2005
Ebay Fraudulent E-mail Circulating
An e-mail that appears to be sent from "Securely eBay Confirmation" is a
fraudulent e-mail.
The e-mail is false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail and do not give out
your account information.
The help desk has received several reports of this e-mail being received
by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 7:48
pm on June
1, 2005
New Sober Variant sending fake e-mail errors and account information
Newer variants generate e-mails that appear to be legitimate
messages like E-mail errors and account information, but the attached
file includes a virus. Additionally, do not click on any links included
in the e-mail.
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 8:13
am on May
4, 2005
Paypal Fraudulent E-mail Circulating
An e-mail that appears to be sent from Paypal Account Review is a
fraudulent e-mail.
The e-mail is false and should not be taken seriously. Please do not
click on any of the links included within the e-mail.
The help desk has received several reports of this e-mail being received
by ISU’s staff and faculty.
If you receive one of the e-mails you should delete the message and
empty it from your
trash.
Updated by: Andrea at 8:27
am on April
8, 2005
Virus and Security related updates for March '05
"Pharming": What is it and are you susceptible to it?
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 4:27
pm on April
7, 2005
New MyDoom virus sending as "the isugw.indstate.edu support team"
Updated February 21, 2005
Newer variants generate e-mails that appear to come from legitimate
sources such as the Mail Administrator or Mailer-Daemon. The body of the
message may claim your e-mail account has been sending out spam or that
your computer has been infected/compromised. In some cases the e-mails
will be signed with "the isugw.indstate.edu support team".
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 9:39
am on
February 17,
2005
Virus and Security related updates for Jan/Feb '05
The last few months have brought a myriad of new virus and security
related issues to the forefront. This article highlights a few of those
issues:
Nigerian Scam gets a face lift - Tsunami Scam
Phisher Scams
Sophisticated viruses
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 3:29
pm on
February 14,
2005
W32.Sober
Sober is a mass-mailing worms that uses its own e-mail server to send
out e-mails. The subject of the email varies and is in either English or
German.
[original
article]
Updated by: Andrea at 4:02
pm on
February 14,
2005
Archived Virus and Security Alerts: