patrol divisionpatrol2patrol3

Patrol Division

Indiana State University maintains a 24-hour Public Safety operation located at 210 N. 6th Street between Erickson and Pickerl Halls. The Public Safety Department has 25 full-time police officers.  Police Officers employed by the Public Safety Department exercise full police authority and enforce federal and state laws, as well as University policies.  Officers also have arrest powers, on any property owned, leased, or used by Indiana State University. In addition, through a special agreement with the Vigo County Sheriff, officers exercise authority throughout Vigo County.  The Public Safety Department maintains a strong working relationship with other university police agencies and local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies.    


  • Enforcement of federal, state, and local laws
  • Enforcement of University policies
  • Criminal investigations
  • Personal and facility security
  • Vehicle crash investigations
  • Emergency medical assistance
  • Public safety communications systems
  • Emergency Disaster preparedness planning
  • Traffic regulation and control
  • Vehicle, bike and foot patrol of University property
  • Crime prevention and awareness programs