Social Science Education

resources

SOCIAL SCIENCE EDUCATION LINKS

Primary Source Materials

History Texts/Documents - history.hanover.edu/texts.html

The History Place -  http://www.historyplace.com/

Library of Congress -  http://www.loc.gov/index.html

National Archives -   http://www.archives.gov/

United States Historical Census Data Browser - fisher.lib.Virginia.edu/census/

New Deal Network - newdeal.feri.org/

Internet Modern History Sourcebook -  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html

Japanese American Exhibit and Access Project -  http://www.lib.washington.edu/exhibits/harmony/

Library of the Holocaust -  remember.org

University of Oklahoma Law Center History Documents -  http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/

University of Kansas WWW-VL -  history.cc.ukans.edu/history/WWW_history_main.html

The Labyrinth:  Resources for Medieval Studies -  http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/

American Memory Project -  rs6.loc.gov/ammem

Historical Text Archive -   http://www.historicaltextarchive.com/

History Buff's Home Page -  http://historybuff.com/

The History Net -  http://www.thehistorynet.com/

Early America -  earlyamerica.com/earlyamerica/index.html

The American Civil War -  homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm

Truman Library Project Whistletop Korean War Collection -  http://www.trumanlibrary.org/whistlestop/study_collections/korea/large/index.htm

Cold War Hot Links -  Cold War Hot Links: Web Sorces Relating to the Cold War

Social Studies Metasites

Social Studies Sources Page - education.indiana.edu/~socialst/

History/Social Studies Site for K-12 Teachers - http://www.tarleton.edu/Organizations/team/resources/SocialStudiesandTechnologyWebSites.htm

Social Science Data Collection - ssdc.ucsd.edu

Virtual Library -  vlib.stanford.edu/

Migration and Ethnic Relations Virtual Library -    http://vlib.org/InternationalAffairs

Economic Policy Institute Data -  http://www.epi.org/resources/datazone_index/

The Historical Text Archive -  http://historicaltextarchive.com/

Egypt Links -  http://www.egyptology.com/reeder/links.html

Organization of American Historians -  http://www.oah.org/announce/links.html

The Scholar's Guide to WWW -  http://tigger.uic.edu/~rjensen/

Maps

Vicinity Corp Map Blast -  http://www.mapblast.com/

Virtual Tourist World Map -  http://www.vtourist.com/webmap/

Historical Map Web Sites -  http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/historical/history_main.html

Odden's Bookmarks - oddens.geog.uu.nl/

U.S. Surname Distribution -  http://www.hamrick.com/names/

Other Reference sites/links

The Comprehensive Internet Reference -  http://www.tile.net/

National Archives -  http://www.archives.gov/

My Virtual Reference Desk -  http://www.refdesk.com/

Education Technology Journal -  http://www.fromnowon.org/

History/Social Studies Lesson Plans, Material, Activities

Social Studies -  http://www.csunledu/~vceed009/socialstudies.html

Public Broadcasting System:  American/World History -  www.pbs.org/history/

National Archives - http://www.archives.gov/

Economics Resources for K-12 teachers -  http://ncee.net/resources/

Foundation for Teaching Economics -  http://www.fte.org/

Teaching with Historic Places -  www.cr.nps.gov/nr/twhp

History Matters -  historymatters.gmu.edu

SCORE History/Social Science Resources -  http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/

History/Social Studies for K-12 teachers -  www.execpc.com/~dboals/boals.html

Useful Organizations/Institutions/Agencies

Indiana Department of Education -  ideanet.doe.state.in.us/

Indiana Professional Standards Board -  www.state.in.us/psb/

Indiana Council for History Education -  http://www.indianahumanities.org/iche/

The Society for History Education -  www.csulb.edu/~histeach/

American Historical Association -  http://www.theaha.org/

ISU's Social Science Education Program - web.indstate.edu/ssed/

Search for teaching positions nationwide - http://www.wanttoteach.com/

 

back to top