You are here

Rebecca A. Johnson Honors Program Award

This endowed scholarship was established by Dr. David L. Johnson in loving memory of his wife, Rebecca A. Johnson, who earned a B.S. degree in Nursing from Indiana State University, an M.S. in Nursing from Indiana University in Indianapolis, and a D.N.S. degree from the University of California at San Francisco. She taught occasionally for the nursing school at ISU and worked for Planned Parenthood of the Wabash Valley. She also was a Nurse Practitioner for Union Hospital, assisting with the program for the rural medicine in Brazil, Indiana. His association with Dr. Donald Jennermann is most cordial, and he has asked that Dr. Jennermann, Director of the Honors Program, or his successor manage selection of the Rebecca A. Johnson Scholarship Award for Honors Program/Nursing Students. Dr. Johnson is now retired and living in Florida.

Selection Criteria

Consideration for this scholarship shall be given to an Indiana State University student(s) who meets the following criteria:

  • Recipients shall be enrolled in the Honors Program preparing to enter the nursing profession.
  • If no eligible nursing students apply, others in the Honors Program may be selected to receive the scholarship.
  • Recipients must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.


Apply for the Rebecca A. Johnson Honors Program Award online at


Greg Bierly, Dean

Pickerl Hall 110
Indiana State University
812.237.3676 fax

Office Hours:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM