Landini Award

Landini AwardThe Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award recognizes men and women for their outstanding achievement and service to their campus and community. Award recipients represent and reflect favorably on the ideals and values of Indiana State University. Students with a 3.25 grade point average and between 63 and 93 credit hours are eligible for the Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award. The Signature Events Committee, made up of Indiana State University Alumni Association Board of Director members, reviews the nominations and selects 15 finalists to be invited to the Outstanding Junior and Senior Awards every spring. Two males and two females from each class are selected to receive these prestigious awards and are notified during the Outstanding Junior and Senior Awards. 


About President Landini

On May 15, 1975, Richard G. Landini took office as the eighth president of Indiana State University. He came to ISU following teaching and administrative positions at the University of Florida, Arizona State University and the University of Montana.

Born in Pittsburgh, Penn., Landini attended Rice High School in the center of Harlem. Later, he earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in literature at the University of Miami and his PhD in American literature form the University of Florida. He has received honorary degrees from the University of Miami (1981), Quincy College (1985), Baiku Jo Gakuin University in Japan (1987), and Indiana State (1996).

During his tenure, the third longest in ISU's history, the master of public administration degree program was approved and about 20 new undergraduate and as many graduate degree programs were added, including a master's in nursing and a doctor of psychology. Donaghy Day, a campus-wide clean-up day, was introduced; the men's athletic teams joined the Missouri Valley conference; the 1979 men's basketball team, led by All-American Larry Bird, was runner-up in the NCAA Division I Basketball Championship Tournament; and the gymnastic team, led by Kurt Thomas, won the NCAA National championship. The departments of physical education for men and physical education for women were merged into one, and ISU became a founding member of the Gateway Collegiate Athletic Conference for women were merged into one, and ISU became a founding member of the Gateway Collegiate Athletic Conference for women's sports. The Schools of Business and Education moved into the vacant Statesman Towers, and fire destroyed the Women's Physical Education Building.

Other changes included approval of a $55 million campus Master Plan by the Board of Trustees and the General Assembly. This resulted in the construction and completion of the School of Technology Building, Oakley Plaza, a recreation and athletics arena, Root Hall, University Pavilion, Parsons Hall (new administration building) and the new Hulman Memorial Student Union and Dede Plaza (at the site of the former Gillum residence hall).

Oakley Place     Dede Plaza     Myers College of Technology

During Landini's years as president, the general education curriculum was enhanced; admissions standards were raised and redefined; and several national honor societies were chartered, including Phi Kappa Phi, Sigma Xi, and Mortar Board. In 1980, North Central Association approved a 10-year reaccreditations and the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business admitted ISU's School of Business to full membership.

In 1985, ISU's branch campus in Evansville became the University of Southern Indiana, the same year a new University logo featuring a sycamore leaf was introduced.

President Landini retired in 1992. He passed away on October 26 2004 at the age of 74. On April 20th, 2012, on Donaghy Day, Indiana State University faculty, staff, students, and friends rededicated the Center for Performing and Fine Arts and named it the Ricahrd G. Landini Center for Performing and Fine Arts in his honor.  



ISU Alumni Association

30 North Fifth Street
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-6100