Authors and Artists Reception and Program

Authors and Artists Reception and Program

Event Type



Cunningham Memorial Library, Events Area




(812) 237-2560


The library’s annual Authors and Artists program is the only campus event that honors the written or artistic material or performance of ISU's faculty, staff and students. This year's 35th annual event will feature Indiana State University's faculty and emeriti who published or created artistic works in 2019. Honorees are: Two spousal writing pairs: William A. Dando and Caroline Z. Dando; Bradley V.Balch and Tonya C. Balch
Two theater faculty for artistic accomplishments: Julie Dixon and Michael Jackson

Other faculty: Namita Goswami; Timothy Hawkins; Mary Howard-Hamilton; Nathan Myers; Thomas W. Nesser; Park Yong Joon; Thomas H. Sawyer; Qihao Weng

A reception will begin at 2:30 p.m. with light refreshments, with the program beginning at 3 p.m. For more information on this and past programs, visit

The occasion also serves as a place to recognize this year's graduate and
undergraduate recipients of the Library's Bakerman Research Award. Visit more information.

The Bakerman Graduate winner is William Anastasiadis with his paper, “Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in Preschool-Aged Children: A Critical Review” from PSY-668: Advanced Psychopathology with Jennifer Schriver. The Bakerman Undergraduate winner  is Abby Hemmen with her paper “Social Media’s Effect on Voting” from PSCI 340, Political Inquiry with Matthew Bergbower