You are here

Student Philanthropy Group honored at Sycamore Leadership Awards

Student Philanthropy

In only one year’s time, the Student Philanthropy Organization made significant strides to grow their presence on the Indiana State University campus. This group has provided education and awareness among fellow students of the importance of philanthropy to the University.

“I am extremely proud of the efforts our Student Philanthropy Group to help promote a culture of giving at Indiana State University. Each and every member has a passion for the group’s mission and has done an extraordinary amount of work to share the importance of giving back with their fellow students,” said Jeremiah Turner, Associate Vice President of Advancement. 

The Student Philanthropy Group played a significant role in the Division of University Advancement’s Give to Blue Day on March 11, 2020 as they hosted events and activities to promote giving to the institution. Their work helped to result in more than 500 students making donations to Indiana State, doubling the number from the previous year.

For their efforts, the Student Philanthropy Group was honored as the Emerging Student Organization of the Year at the university's Sycamore Leadership Awards. The award recognizes the work of new student organizations who make a significant impact on campus during the academic year. The virtual recognition ceremony was held on Monday, April 27 by the Office of Campus Life, Alumni Association and Center for Community Engagement.

Along with the group recognition, several student leaders in the Student Philanthropy Organization earned awards for their individual accomplishments during the 2019-20 academic year.

Student Philanthropy Group President, Kimberly Collins, was the recipient of the J.D. Miller Distinguished Service Award. The award is named for ISU alumnus, J.D. Miller, who lost a courageous battle against cancer in 2010. This award recognizes students who are involved in campus activities that promote the betterment of Indiana State. 

“I am incredibly honored to receive the J.D. Miller Distinguished Service Award,” said Collins. “J.D. Miller’s passionate leadership was extraordinary, and his zest for life is truly inspirational. As a recipient of this award, I am humbled to honor his legacy through service to the university, and I will strive to let his enthusiasm shine through all of my actions.”

Kimberly is sophomore from Terre Haute, Ind. and is majoring in marketing.

Anne Bowen, President-Elect of the Student Philanthropy Group earned the Sophomore Leadership Award. She is an insurance and risk management major from Terre Haute, Ind.

“Being honored with the Sophomore Leadership Award motivates me to continue to support the enriching programs this university has built through leadership opportunities, continued education, and professional development, said Bowen.

Anne will assume the role as the President of the Student Philanthropy Organization for the 2020-21 academic year.

Freshman member of the Student Philanthropy Group, Samuel Bowen, received the Freshman Leadership Award. Bowen is majoring in accounting from Terre Haute, Ind.

“I joined the Student Philanthropy Organization as a freshman to develop leadership skills, friendships, and relationships with Indiana State alumni. It was important for me to be a part of the organization’s first year on campus to support the growth and the mission to bring a culture of philanthropy to the campus of Indiana State,” said Bowen.

For more information about the Student Philanthropy Organization, contact Hilary Duncan, Director of Annual Giving at



University Advancement
30 North Fifth Street
Terre Haute, IN 47809
Phone: (812) 237-6100
Toll Free: (800) 242-1409