

Accepting Nominations for Staff Council Awards

Sycamore Staff Award (for non-Council members)

The Sycamore Staff Award will recognize a staff member who contributes to the overall mission and success of Indiana State University.

The Sycamore Staff award is open to all benefits-eligible staff (full and part time) who have been employed with Indiana State University for at least one full year. Current members of Staff Council are not eligible for this award.

To nominate a staff member, you must complete the <u>nomination form</u> by April 28, 2023.

PLEASE NOTE: <u>Past recipients</u> are not eligible to receive this award. For a list of Staff Council representatives that are not eligible, please visit the Staff Council <u>website</u>.

Debbie Nelson Staff Council Spirit Award (Council members only)

The Debbie Nelson Staff Council Spirit Award will recognize an outstanding Council member. This award was established in honor of Debbie Nelson, former chair of Staff Council and a key participant in creating Staff Council at ISU, for her leadership and contributions to Staff Council.

This award is given annually to an outstanding Staff Council representative. The intention of this award is to recognize a member of the Staff Council who has exhibited outstanding service to the Staff at ISU through his or her work on the Staff Council.

The Staff Council Spirit Award winner will be announced at the Staff Council Annual Meeting on May 11, 2023. All nominees will also be recognized.

To nominate a Staff Council Representative, you must complete the nomination form by April 26, 2023.

PLEASE NOTE: Only 2022-2023 Staff Council Representatives are eligible for this award. <u>Past recipients</u> are not eligible to receive this award.

If you have any questions, please contact Staff Council Chair, Morgan Leek, <u>Morgan.Leek@indstate.edu</u> or Vice Chair, Roxanne Torrence, <u>Roxanne.Torrence@indstate.edu</u>.









Mark Your Calendars

The next Staff Council Meeting is on May 4, 2023 in Dede III. Meetings are open to ALL ISU Staff.



Submit Content To:

roxanne.torrence@ indstate.edu

Upcoming Events

Annual Meeting

The Staff Council Annual Meeting will be held on May 11, 2023 in Glass Pavilion in the Hulman Center at 10am.

Space is limited to 200 attendees so you must register for this event. Registation is open until May 9th. All attendees will also have their name entered for door prizes which will include an ISU Parking Pass and other great door prizes. You must be present to win a door prize.

All those in attendance will also receive a free gift (must be in person to get gift).

Reserve your spot today and register now!

Succulent Planter Workshop



The Staff Council is hosting a Succulent Planter Workshop on May 9th. We will have a Master Gardener, Patti Weaver, guide us through this workshop.

This event will take place in the Fine Arts building, Room 115 on Tuesday, May 9th, 2023; from 5pm-7pm.

The cost is \$30.00. Proceeds will go toward a Staff Council Project.

You must <u>pre-register</u> for this workshop.

If you have any questions, please contact Rhonda at Rhonda.Beecroft@ indstate.edu or call 812-237-2596.

BINGO Winners

Congratulations to our most recent BINGO winners:

Shannon Mills-Jones, Purchasing Ashlee Pritchard, Athletics Christie Burt, Library Aaron Slocum, University College Abby Adams, Housing Facilities Operations Jenni Mesanovic, Blumberg Center Robyn James, University Advancement Kasy Long, University Marketing Aaron Slocum, University College Robyn James, University Advancement

Our next lunchtime BINGO is coming soon!



2022 – 2023 Staff Council Representatives

Nick Aballi Melisa Allen Eric Aztor Robert Bandelt Karissa Baumgartner Rhonda Beecroft Sarah Ber Melissa Chase Teresa Dwyer Sara Ellinger Viola Ellis Ben Kappes Christine Knight Todd LaComba Lucy Lakstins Julie Land Morgan Leek Michelle Lewis Brenda Lower Pamela Malone Rivkah Mentzer Grace Muñoz Angie Napier Brandi Overton M Schaekel Roxanne Torrence Alex Whitmore

2022 – 2023 Staff Council Committees

Staff Relations Committee

Tina Pitts+ Karissa Baumgartner Angie Napier Ben Kappes Sara Ellinger Katherine Black* Teresa Dwyer Viola Ellis Joshua Snyder* Robert Bandelt Lynn Larimer* Alivia Vaillancourt

Staff Benefits Committee

Sarah Ber+ Alex Whitmore Christi Burt* Nicholas Aballi Pamela Malone Vicki Gaunt* Rivkah Mentzer Melissa Chase Robert Bandelt Levi Elmore

Public Relations Committee

Rhonda Beecroft+ Beth Tomlinson* Brenda Lower Christine Knight Eric Aztor Grace Muñoz Lisa Syed* Brandi Overton Julie Land

Melisa Allen Michelle Lewis M Schaekel Todd LaComba Joshua Snyder* Lucy Lakstins Jamie Hays*

*Denotes Staff who are not a Staff Council Representatives +Denotes Committee Chair

Staff Council Meetings

Regular Meeting: Thursday, May 4th at 10:30 am in Dede III

Why should you attend meetings?

- Learn about all of the activities around campus
- Learn about ways to get involved
- Collaborate with others
- Voice ideas
- Communicate with representatives

Who should attend meetings?

- All Staff
- Staff Council Representatives
- Invited Guests

What is the difference between open and closed sessions?

- Open Session is the part of the meeting where topics are discussed, questions can be asked, and decisions can be made.
- Closed Session is specific to the members of the organization. Typically, strategic planning and problem solving conversation happens here that helps advance the mission.

Click <u>Here</u> for Past Meeting Minutes.



Staff Recognition

April

Name

Dalton Boyles Tori Marks Kerri England Matt Bird Carol Wiemuth Leslie Wheeler Mark Suiter Shauna Lehman Russell Harwood David Benjamin Kellie McCain Mark Pupilli

Department

Years of Service

Telecommunications	5
New Student Transition Programs	5
Office of Information Technology	5
Honors College	5
Office of Information Technology	10
Assoc VP University Controller	10
Blumber Center	10
College of Grad & Professional Stds	10
Office of Information Technology	15
Custodians	20
Dept. of Educational Leadership	20
Facilities Management	35

Connect with Staff Council Representatives, Committees, and more by visiting: <u>https://www.indstate.edu/services/staff-council</u> Find us on Facebook: <u>https://www.facebook.com/IndianaStateUniversityStaffCouncil</u>

Summer Camps

Community School of the Arts is now registering for Summer Camps! Children that live with a staff member may qualify for a discount



