# INDIANA STATE UNIVERSITY STAFF COUNCIL

*l*olume 1, Issue 13, August 2022

**Serving ISU Staff** 



#### FREE SNOW CONES

All Staff are invited to stop by the fountain on August 10th from 1:00pm - 2:30pm for a free snow cone.

There will also be a fun photo op for you and your co-workers to enjoy.

#### **Back to School Picnic**

All faculty and staff are invited to celebrate the start of the new school year. The picnic will be held in the HMSU Commons and the Sycamore Banquet Center from 11am - 1pm on Thursday, August 11th.

Free t-shirts will be available first come first serve. Lunch will be provided. Please bring your ISU ID.

Make sure you stop by the Staff Council photo booth on your way out and get your picture taken with Scooby and Shaggy in the Mystery Machine.









#### **Mark Your Calendars**

The next Staff Council Meeting is on August 9, 2022 in Dede III. Meetings are open to ALL ISU Staff.

#### **Submit Content To:**

roxanne.torrence@ indstate.edu

#### **VOLUNTEERS NEEDED!**

The Center for Community Engagement is in need of volunteers for Donaghy Day, August 15, 2022 from 8:15am - 12:00pm. These volunteers would ride the bus with the first year students and assist with getting the right number of volunteers at each stop. Most busses have two to three stops and all locations are in the Terre Haute area (Ben Franklin Elementary, SHINE, Rethink, etc.)

Community Service Leave can be used for this opportunity. Please contact Alex Whitmore at alex.whitmore@indstate.edu or 237-7900.



#### **COMMUNITY SERVICE LEAVE**

Just a reminder that all benefits eligible staff have 15 hours of Community Service Leave available now through June 30. You may use this to take paid time off in order to perform some type of community service of your choice.

To use your time, you must have your supervisor's written approval and submit the Service Leave form before you do your service. If our office does not have a form for you, or you have not been approved for leave, payroll may change your leave to vacation time.

This is a great opportunity to help out in your community. Employees have been involved in serving the Special Olympics, area schools and churches, the Humane Society, and Meals on Wheels to name just a few. There are many others that qualify for community service leave so check with our office if you are not sure.

Community Service Leave must be done during working hours, and you may use up to 7.5 hours in a day.

You can check out the United Way website for organizations that need volunteers, or you may choose your own.

Please call the Center for Community Engagement if you have any questions at 812-237-2334.

#### 2022 - 2023 Staff Council Representatives

**Nick Aballi Melisa Allen Barbara Auman Eric Aztor Robert Bandelt** Karissa Baumgartner Rhonda Beecroft Sarah Ber **Melissa Chase Cathy Contri** Teresa Dwyer Sara Ellinger Viola Ellis **Larry Flynn Ben Kappes** 

**Christine Knight Todd LaComba Julie Land Luke Lakstins Morgan Leek** Michelle Lewis **Brenda Lower Pamela Malone Rivkah Mentzer Grace Muñoz Angie Napier Brandi Overton M Schaekel Roxanne Torrence Alex Whitmore** 

#### 2022 - 2023 Staff Council **Committees**

#### **Staff Relations** Committee

**Tina Pitts+** Karissa Baumgartnei **Angie Napier Ben Kappes** Larry Flynn Sara Ellinger **Katherine Black\* Teresa Dwyer** Viola Ellis Joshua Snyder\*

#### **Staff Benefits** Committee

Sarah Ber+ **Alex Whitmore\* Christi Burt\* Nicholas Aballi Pamela Malone** Vicki Gaunt\* **Rivkah Mentzer Martha Vaughn Melissa Chase Robert Bandelt** 

#### **Public Relations Committee**

**Rhonda Beecroft+ Beth Tomlinson\* Brenda Lower** Brooke Young\* Christine Knight **Eric Aztor Grace Muñoz** Lisa Syed\* **Brandi Overton** Cathi Contri

Melisa Allen\* Michelle Lewis M Schaekel **Todd LaComba** Joshua Snvder\* Luke Lakstins\* Paulina Young\* **Brooke Young\*** Jamie Hays\* **Beth Tomlinson\*** 

\*Denotes Staff who are not a Staff Council Representatives +Denotes Committee Chair

# **Staff Council Meetings**

Regular Meeting: Tuesday, August 9th at 10:30 am in Dede III

Why should you attend meetings?

- Learn about all of the activities around campus
- Learn about ways to get involved
- Collaborate with others
- Voice ideas
- Communicate with representatives

Who should attend meetings?

- All Staff
- Staff Council Representatives
- Invited Guests

What is the difference between open and closed sessions?

- Open Session is the part of the meeting where topics are discussed, questions can be asked, and decisions can be made.
- Closed Session is specific to the members of the organization. Typically, strategic planning and problem solving conversation happens here that helps advance the mission.

Click Here for Past Meeting Minutes.

**Questions?** 



# Staff Recognition

## July

Name	Department	Years of Service
Jerome Athey	Custodians	3
Tresa Makosky	Dean, College Health & Human Svcs	3
Stephen Galvan	Ctr for Sports Medicine & Perform	3
Nicholas Horton	Campus Recreation	3
Nancy Swift	IU School of Medicine- Terre Haute	5
William Myers	Power Plant	5
David Boruff	Burford Housing	5
Brenton Gard	Electrical	5
Melisa Allen	Dean, Bayh College of Education	5
Caroline Mallory	Dean, College Health & Human Svcs	5
Amy Roman	President's Office	10
William Hamilton	Office of the Registrar	15
Nick Aballi	Office of Information Technology	20
Robert Barley	Office of Information Technology	20
Kelly Fallon	School of Music	20
Angela Martin	Athletics-Track	20
Jim Firestone	Custodians	20
Chris Kennedy	HMSU-Operations	20
Jeffrey Perkins	Student Media	25
Donn Yarbrough	Mechanical Trades	35

### August

Name	Department	Years of Service
Wyatt Lawson	Dean University College	3
Jolyn Osborne	Budget, Payroll & Risk Mgt	3
Kristen Kardas	Fraternity & Sorority Life	3
Mark Alesia	University Communications	3
Dena Brown	Office of the Registrar	3
Hannah Singer	Early Childhood Education Center	3
Loria Miller	Early Childhood Education Center	3
Julie Manson	President's Office	3
Laura Ping	Student Financial Aid	5
Jason Johnson	Residential Life Programming	5
Stephanie Mason	Budget, Payroll & Risk Mgt	5
Rosalind Chandler	Blumberg Center	5
Joseph Haney	Office of the Registrar	5
Anthony Bertoli	Athletics- Track	5
Marcee Wilburn	Blumberg Center	10
Faron Glenn	Grounds	10
Richard Boatman	Maehling Terrace Univ Apartments	10
Brittany Corbin	Early Childhood Education Center	10
Joel McMullen	Athletics-Administration	15
Ben Kappes	Student Activities & Organizations	15
Jim Smallwood	Dean, College of Technology	20
Brenda Lower	Mathematics & Computer Science	20
Tammy South	VP Bus Affairs and Treasurer	30
Martha Krasnican	School of Music	45