# INDIANA STATE UNIVERSITY STAFF COUNCIL

October 2022

Serving ISU Staff

#### **Harvest Party**

The Staff Council is hosting a Harvest Party on October 27, 2022 from 6:00pm - 8:00pm in Dede I, II, III).

There will be games, snacks, face painting, costume and coloring contest, trick or treat parade and the First Klass Dance Troupe will be performing from 6:45pm - 7:15pm. Miss ISU, Jenna Eltzroth will also make a special appearance.

The costume and coloring contest will be from 7:15pm - 7:30pm and the trick or treat parade will be from 7:30pm - 8:00pm.





#### **Ornament Sale**

ISU Staff Council is hosting their Annual Hand-made ornament sale.

Ornaments are made locally by Holly Hyland of HH Creations. Each ornament costs \$10 and proceeds go toward the Staff Scholarship Fund.

Sales are open until **November 11th**. For any questions, please contact Rhonda.Beecroft@indstate.edu.







The Staff Council Door Decorating Contest was a big hit! We only had 7 entries, but they were all very creative. Thank you to all the departments that participated. And a special thank you goes out to the judges: Dr. Christopher Olsen, Diann McKee, Tami Weinzapfel-Smith, and Dr. Brad Balch, for their time and their votes.

And the winners are:

Judges vote: Entry #2 Cunningham Memorial Library Dean's Office submitted by Christi Burt and Tracy McDaniel

People's choice with more than 100 votes: Entry #5 Early Childhood Education Center-Preschool South at Mehling Terrace submitted by Julie Land.

Congratulations to both of the winning departments!



Cunningham Memorial Library picture above; Early Childhood Education Center picture to the right



#### **Mark Your Calendars**

The next Staff Council
Meeting is on
November 10, 2022 in
Dede III. Meetings are
open to ALL ISU Staff.

## **Submit Content To:**

roxanne.torrence@indstate.edu

## Volunteers Needed!



# 2022 - 2023 Staff Council Representatives

**Nick Aballi Melisa Allen Barbara Auman Eric Aztor Robert Bandelt Karissa Baumgartner Rhonda Beecroft** Sarah Ber **Melissa Chase Cathy Contri Teresa Dwyer** Sara Ellinger Viola Ellis **Larry Flynn** Ben Kappes

**Christine Knight** Todd LaComba **Luke Lakstins** Julie Land **Morgan Leek** Michelle Lewis **Brenda Lower Pamela Malone Rivkah Mentzer Grace Muñoz Angie Napier Brandi Overton M Schaekel Roxanne Torrence Alex Whitmore** 

# 2022 - 2023 Staff Council Committees

#### **Staff Relations Committee**

Tina Pitts+ Karissa Baumgartner **Angie Napier** Ben Kappes Larry Flynn Sara Ellinger **Katherine Black\* Teresa Dwyer** Viola Ellis Joshua Snyder\* **Robert Bandelt** Lynn Larimer\* Alivia Vaillancourt

#### Staff Benefits Committee

Sarah Ber+ **Alex Whitmore** Christi Burt\* **Nicholas Aballi Pamela Malone** Vicki Gaunt\* **Rivkah Mentzer Melissa Chase Robert Bandelt Levi Elmore** 

#### **Public Relations Committee**

Rhonda Beecroft+ **Beth Tomlinson\* Brenda Lower Christine Knight Eric Aztor** Grace Muñoz Lisa Syed\* **Brandi Overton Julie Land Cathy Contri** 

Melisa Allen Michelle Lewis M Schaekel Todd LaComba Joshua Snyder\* **Luke Lakstins** Paulina Young\* Jamie Hays\*

# **Staff Council Meetings**

Regular Meeting: Thursday, November 10th at 10:30 am in Dede III

Why should you attend meetings?

- Learn about all of the activities around campus
- Learn about ways to get involved
- Collaborate with others
- Voice ideas
- Communicate with representatives

Who should attend meetings?

- All Staff
- Staff Council Representatives
- Invited Guests

What is the difference between open and closed sessions?

- Open Session is the part of the meeting where topics are discussed, questions can be asked, and decisions can be made.
- Closed Session is specific to the members of the organization. Typically, strategic planning and problem solving conversation happens here that helps advance the mission.

Click Here for Past Meeting Minutes.

**Questions?** 



<sup>\*</sup>Denotes Staff who are not a Staff Council Representatives +Denotes Committee Chair

# Staff Recognition

# October

Name	Department	Years of Service
Lisa Moseley	Admissions and High Schl Relations	3
Casey Truax	Admissions and High Schl Relations	3
Christopher Lanning	Power Plant	3
John Sneddon	Student Financial Aid	5
Jason Hughes	IU School of Medicine-Terre Haute	5
Brandan Bettenhausen	Athletics- Track	5
Mandy Hopton Amy Schrader Timothy Swank	Athletics- Administration Sandison Housing Sandison Housing	5 5 5
Victoria Morgan	Early Childhood Education Center	5
Jimmie Storms	Physical Therapy & Sports Rehab Cli	5
Anna Miller	Library Services	5
Dorothy Buck	Office of the Registrar	10
Austin Wolfe	Public Safety Department	10
Lisa Freeman	Admissions and High Schl Relations	15
Yvonne Russell	College of Grad & Professional Stds	15
John Pusich	HMSU- Operations	15
Donna Bell	Athletics- Men's Basketball	20
Mary Hilton	School of Nursing	20
Mark Schaffer	School of Nursing	25
Marcie Bays	Advancement	35

Connect with Staff Council Representatives, Committees, and more by

https://www.indstate.edu/services/staff-council Find us on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/IndianaStateUniversityStaffCouncil



# **Public Service Loan Forgiveness**

Employees of Indiana State University may be eligible for the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program (PSLF). This is different from the onetime student loan debt relief of up to \$20,000. PSLF is a program for people who work in public service in federal, state, tribal, or local government, or for a non-profit organization.

Until October 31, 2022, borrowers may receive credit for payments that previously did not qualify for PSLF. This program forgives the remaining balance on your Direct Loans, after making 120 qualifying monthly payments, while working full-time, for a qualifying employer.

Don't know if you qualify? Please visit studentaid.gov/pslf where you can find the program details, application form, and the PSLF Help Tool.

Completed applications must be submitted, in person, to Human Resources, by October 31, 2022.