Fraternity and Sorority Leadership Awards

The Fraternity and Sorority Leadership Awards annually recognize individuals and chapters for their accomplishments during the previous year. Organization awards are based on the self-assessments each organization submits each semester based on the Standards of Excellence, and recognition is given for achievement and excellence in each category. The highest-scoring chapter in each council is recognized as the President's Cup winner. Individual awards are based on applications, and in some cases, an interview. Individual award applications will open in October and are due in November. The ceremony is held each January to celebrate and recognize the accomplishments of the previous year.

2019 President Cup Winners

If you have any questions please contact Corry Smith, Associate Director of Fraternity and Sorority Life ( 

Individual Award Descriptions:

  • Sycamore Spirit Award: given to an individual in each council who demonstrates personal growth, leadership development, campus pride, and support for their organization and the FSL community
  • Community Builder Award: given to an individual in each council who has an understanding of the power of community, has demonstrated fellowship within the FSL community, and has made efforts to support those principles
  • Professional Development Award: awarded to a student that has taken steps both within the FSL community and in other learning environments to develop skills and competencies that will benefit every aspect of their future
  • Robert Amos Award: scholarship given to a fall male-identified new member with demonstrated need, who exhibits academic achievement, is involved in many activities, and performs community service
  • Doug Kartje Award: given annually to an outstanding spring male new member in memory of Doug Kartje by his friends and family 
  • Neo of the Year Award: given to a new member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council who has demonstrated a strong sense of fraternal values and has made a positive impact in their chapter and the council
  • Emerging Leader Award: presented to a male and female sophomore who have shown leadership within the community
  • Emma Truitt Award: scholarship given to an outstanding junior sorority member who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and significatn contribution as a student leader
  • Mark Williams Award: scholarship given to an outstanding junior fraternity member who exhibits leadership contributions and scholarship excellence through involvement in fraternity, campus, and community activities while maintaining strong scholarship records
  • Member of the Year Award: presented to one individual in each council based on quality of leadership within their organization, contribution to FSL, involvement in campus activities, scholarship, career achievement, and general excellence in a variety of endeavors
  • President of the Year: selected by members of the FSL staff and given to an outstanding organization president in each council who lives the FSL values throughout their term
  • Legacy Medal of Distinction: the top honor awarded to an individual member, it is given to an outstanding senior in each council who has blazed the trail for others on campus to follow through living the mission and values of  FSL
  • Advisor of the Year: given to an advisor in each council who showcases their engagement and mentoring member in developing service, leadership, new member education, and scholastic achievement

2020 FSL Award Ceremony Emcees

Previous Award Winners: