Her Color Shines

5th Annual Her Color Shines Awards

May 4, 2021

Tilson Auditorium

Red carpet 5:30-6pm

Program start time 6-7pm

 Apply for Award - Application deadline April 9, 2021

Register to Attend


This event was created to acknowledge and award young women of color (faculty, staff, and student) at Indiana State University for their exceptional leadership, academic performance, and resilience. We will acknowledge the phenomenal accomplishments of our women of color. This will be our chance to let our light shine.


This event has been in the making for the past year. It is our attempt to create an event that will truly be remarkable and memorable.


As stated, the event will begin with an actual red carpet walk between 5:30-6pm. The program will begin promptly at 6pm. Our colors for the evening are black, white, and cream. If you do not have those colors, please wear whatever you have in your closet. Just remember, this is a red carpet event; so no jeans!


If you have any questions, please feel free to email Her Color Shines <ISU-HerColorhines@indstate.edu>


2020 Her Color Shines Awardees

Savvy Freshman Raya Gates                                           Savvy Sophomore Britney Glover             

Galvanize Junior Aisha Murray                                         Galvanize Senior Rajeni Jones                                           Galvanize Hispanic Yadira Diaz Romero                  

Galvanize Asian Aria Ahmer                                              Galvanize   International Junior Anjara Rafidison             Galvanize International Senior Pheobe Mehany       

Virtuoso African-American Alivia Williams      

Resilient African American Latrice Watson                    Resilient Asian Ashima Sitaula

Perseverance African-American Kelsey Bogard            Perseverance Asian Naureen Aslam               Perseverance International Alyaa Malibari           

Phenomenal MOM Abryn Wyatt                                       Phenomenal MOM Jasmyne Cameron            Phenomenal MOM Krystiauna Cole     


Award Categories

Savvy Award

The freshmen and sophomore recipients of the Savvy Award have displayed this discernment and practical knowledge throughout their academic career at Indiana State.

Resilient Award

Awarded to a graduate student, the recipient represents qualities of a tenacious and active student leader. The recipients have made profound contributions to the University and her community while in pursuit of her degree.

Galvanize Award

These exceptional young women (juniors and seniors) have exhibited outstanding motivation and leadership across campus.

Virtuoso Award

This remarkable individual is a Fine Arts major. We celebrate her academic achievements as well as her outstanding artistic abilities.

Fierce Award

This award distinguishes a young lady that excels academically while achieving great strides as a student athlete.

Longevity Award

It recognizes those that have given much to this institution. We felt that recognizing faculty, staff and administrators for their faith and endurance was worthy of being praised. Longevity Awardees are positive role models for our students and community, the recipients have shown strength, dedication and service to Indiana State University.

Endearing Spirit (Administration, Faculty, Staff, Student, Community, and Alumni) 

This award is selected by the Committee. Endearing spirit is one that is selfless. This happens when you think less about yourself, and more about others. You're generous and kind. Being an Endearing Spirit is similar to being altruistic — another word for giving to others without looking for personal gain. This person gives time, money, or things to other people without expecting anything in return. The Enduring Spirit Award recognizes the lifetime achievements of the recipient through their commitment of time, energy, and the giving of themselves to ensure the success of others. The issues they champion are varied and include: education, youth and family, holistical health (mind, body, and spirit), continuation and retention of culture, and economic empowerment to name a few.


2021 Women of Promise Committee

Elonda Ervin Elonda.ervin@indstate.edu
Martha Reed Martha.Reed@indstate.edu
Azizi Arrington-Slocum Azizi.Arrington-Slocum@indstate.edu
Venita Stallings Venita.Stallings@indstate.edu
Hope Williams Hope.Williams@indstate.edu


If you have any questions, please feel free to email to Her Color Shines at ISU-HerColorShines@indstate.edu 

Visit us on Social Media!

Facebook Logo

Twitter Logo




Hulman Memorial Student Union

7th Floor
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809

Phone: 812-237-2877
Fax: 812-237-8774

Office Hours
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Resource Center Hours
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM