Her Color Shines

Apply for Award – Application Closes Friday February 25, 2019

her-color-shines-2019-for-statesman-page-001-1.jpg

4th Annual Her Color Shines

April 7, 2019

University Hall Auditorium

6-8pm

Red Carpet: 5:30 p.m.

This event was created to acknowledge and award young women of color (students, faculty, and staff) at Indiana State University for their exceptional leadership, academic performance, and resilience. We will continue to recognize the phenomenal accomplishments of our women of color. So, ladies - get ready to let your light shine!
 
This event will begin with an actual red carpet walk between 5:30-6 p.m. The program will begin promptly at 6 p.m. Our colors for the evening are any combination of black, white, and cream. If you do not have anything black, white, or cream, please wear what you have. Just remember, this is a red carpet event, so NO jeans!

Register to Attend

Apply for Award

If you have any questions, please feel free to email Dr. Elonda Ervin at elonda.ervin@indstate.edu

Savvy Award

The freshmen and sophomore recipients of the Savvy Award have displayed this discernment and practical knowledge throughout their academic career at Indiana State.

Resilient Award

Awarded to a graduate student, the recipient represents qualities of a tenacious and active student leader. The recipients have made profound contributions to the University and her community while in pursuit of her degree.

Galvanize Award

These exceptional young women (juniors and seniors) have exhibited outstanding motivation and leadership across campus.

Virtuoso Award

This remarkable individual is a Fine Arts major. We celebrate her academic achievements as well as her outstanding artistic abilities.

Fierce Award

This award distinguishes a young lady that excels academically while achieving great strides as a student athlete.

Longevity Award

It recognizes those that have given much to this institution. We felt that recognizing faculty, staff and administrators for their faith and endurance was worthy of being praised. Longevity Awardees are positive role models for our students and community, the recipients have shown strength, dedication and service to Indiana State University.

Endearing Spirit (Administration, Faculty, Staff, Student, Community, and Alumni) 

This award is selected by the Committee. Endearing spirit is one that is selfless. This happens when you think less about yourself, and more about others. You're generous and kind. Being an Endearing Spirit is similar to being altruistic — another word for giving to others without looking for personal gain. This person gives time, money, or things to other people without expecting anything in return.
The Enduring Spirit Award recognizes the lifetime achievements of the recipient through their commitment of time, energy, and the giving of themselves to ensure the success of others. The issues they champion are varied and include: education, youth and family, holistical health (mind, body, and spirit), continuation and retention of culture, and economic empowerment to name a few.

 

2019 Women of Promise Committee

Nuri Rodriguez – co-chair
nrodriguez9@sycamores.indstate.edu

Jada Tompkins – co-chair
jtompkins5@sycamores.indstate.edu

Azizi Arrington-Bey
Azizi.Arrington-Bey@indstate.edu

Radasia Blaylock
rblaylock2@sycamores.indstate.edu

Elonda Ervin, Ph.D.
Elonda.ervin@indstate.edu

Monserrath Espino
mespino1@sycamores.indstate.edu

Amanda Hobson
Amanda.Hobson@indstate.edu

Danyale Jones
djones113@sycamores.indstate.edu

Alyaa Malibari
amalibari@sycamores.indstate.edu

Kassidy Madison
kmadison2@sycamores.indstate.edu

Gabrielle Miller
gmiller27@sycamores.indstate.edu

LeAsha Moore
lmoore50@sycamores.indstate.edu

Sandy Monge
smonge@sycamores.indstate.edu

Theresa Ortega
Theresa.Ortega@indstate.edu

Madison Perry
mperry23@sycamores.indstate.edu

Imani Randolph
irandolph@sycamores.indstate.edu

Martha Reed
Martha.reed@indstate.edu

Venita Stallings
Venita.Stallings@indstate.edu

Taylor Ward
tward18@sycamores.indstate.edu

Hope Williams
Hope.Williams@indstate.edu

Jayla Windon
jwindon@sycamores.indstate.edu

Donate Now
 

Visit us on Facebook!

Facebook Logo

Follow us on Twitter!

Twitter Logo

Youtube - Coming Soon!

ytb-icon.png

Follow us on Instagram!

insta-msp.png

Contact

Hulman Memorial Student Union

7th Floor
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809

Phone: 812-237-2877
Fax: 812-237-8774

Office Hours
Monday-Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Resource Center Hours
Monday-Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM