Miss Ebony Scholarship Pageant

“Journey to the Queens”


Welcome to the Indiana State University Miss Ebony Scholarship Pageant. We are honored that you have decided to compete in this extremely unique pageant. Miss Ebony is open to all women who understand that this is not a “beauty pageant” but a program that allows women to showcase their broad range of qualities: personal interview, formal interview wear, talent, and the Ability to speak with confidence, poise and grace. Women in this pageant are intelligent, talented, and accomplished and are seeking ways that assist them in pursuing their life goals educationally and professionally.fdan

Miss Ebony History

Miss Ebony Scholarship Pageant – ISU
Journey to the Queen was a huge Success!

We thank all that participated. Special thanks to our very own choreographer – Diamond Howell, talent coach, graphic artist, judges, MCs, auditors, and our planning committee. We especially thank our sponsors:

Mr. Cedric Jones – CJ Award
Black Graduate Student Association
Black Faculty and Staff Caucus
Cowan and Cook Florist
Division of Student Affairs 
Office of Inclusive Excellence
Office of Multicultural Services & Programs 
Poplar Flower Shop
Residential Life 
The Station Floral
Stables Steakhouse


We especially thank all that attended. If you were not able to attend this year, we will return next November 2019.

Your 2018 winners are:

Miss Ebony 2018 - Ms. Amber Drake - Contestant Number 6
1st Runner Up - Ms. Sara Bayed - Contestant Number 13
2nd Runner Up -  Ms. Shaynea Rolle - Contestant Number 8

  • CJ Scholarship Award (highest GPA) - Ms. Sara Bayed - Contestant Number 13
  • Congeniality Award Winner - Ms. Darynne Messer - Contestant Number 9
  • Talent Award Winner - Ms. Amber Drake - Contestant Number 6
  • Audience Choice Winner - Ms. Shaynea Rolle - Contestant Number 8
    Funds collected for Audience Choice will be sent to her selected platfoem - Blessings in the Backpack

Platform: Blessings in the Backpack
Blessings in a Backpack mobilizes communities, individuals, and resources to provide food on the weekends for elementary school children across America who might otherwise go hungry. There are more than 13.1 -million children in this country who are at risk of hunger. The consequences of hunger are much more than a growling stomach. Poor nutrition can result in a weaker immune system, increased hospitalization, lower IQ, shorter attention spans, and lower academic achievement. Children are fed during the school week by federal government programs, but we want to make sure they’re getting nutritional meals over the weekend, too.

Ja Dajah Hogue
Contestant Number 1

Ayrelle Finley
Contestant Number 2

Contestant Number 3

Miah Oner
Contestant Number 4

Sydnee Cummings
Contestant Number 5

Amber Drake
Contestant Number 6

York Hawkins
Contestant Number 7

Shaynea Rolle
Contestant Number 8

Darynne Messer
Contestant Number 9

Katelyn Haase
Contestant Number 10

Danielle Towles
Contestant Number 11

Katelyn Haase
Contestant Number 12

Sara Bayed
Contestant Number 13

Eriah Townsend
Contestant Number 14

2018 Miss Ebony Scholarship Pageant Committee

Miss Ebony Planning Committee Officers

Tiarra Taylor, President
Serea Peecher, Vice-President
Tianna Moore, Treasurer
Kyla Johnson, Secretary
Advisors: Dr. Elonda Ervin and Amanda Hobson
Diamond Howell - Chorographer
Robin Tarver - Talent Coach

2018 Planning Committee Members

Jasmine Harris
Wykhia Hoosier
Taporia Brown
Sharisse Smith
Chyanne Smith
Arianna Andrews
Dionna Johnson
DeNysha Reeves
Jakarra Jenkins
Yostina Nouser
Bobbi Shane
Cidney Roberts
Sabreelyn Stowe
Kyla Johnson
Robin Tarvin
Diamond Howell - Alum
Gabrielle Miller
La Asha Moore
Venita Stallings - staff
Ardell Sanders - staff
Crystal Reynolds - staff
Shantrice Bradley - staff

Donate Now

Visit us on Facebook!

Facebook Logo

Follow us on Twitter!

Twitter Logo

Youtube - Coming Soon!


Follow us on Instagram!



Hulman Memorial Student Union

7th Floor
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809

Phone: 812-237-2877
Fax: 812-237-8774

Office Hours
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Resource Center Hours
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM