

Have a great summer from the College of Technology at Indiana State University!

VOLUME 4, ISSUE 2

May 2022



Congratulations, Class of 2022!

Over 300 College of Technology (COT) students graduated in the Spring '22 semester! We wish all of our COT graduates the best in their future endeavors. Thank you for choosing ISU and COT.

2021-2022 College of Technology Awards Program

The **4th Annual College of Technology Awards Program** took place in person on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 to recognize faculty, staff, and students for their outstanding performance and significant contributions.

Excellence in Faculty Teaching: Ms. Betsy Wilkinson (BE)

Excellence in Faculty Research: Dr. Sheikh Ferdous (AETM)

Excellence in Faculty Service: Dr. Randy Peters (AETM)

Staff of the Year: Ms. Christina Cantrell (Student Services)

Excellence in Advising: Mr. Ben Thomson (AETM)

Outstanding Faculty Council Service: **Dr. Farman Moayed (BE)** Outstanding Community Engagement: **ASME STEM Day-Hoosier Elementary School** Student Organization of the Year: **Indiana State University Collegiate MCAA Chapter**

We would like to give a very warm thank you and congratulations to the following faculty and staff for their recent accomplishments:

Dr. Alister McLeod (AETM) has been promoted to Full Professor.

Dr. Ahmed Mohamed (AETM), Dr. Maria Javaid (ECET), Dr. Philip Lee (AETM) and Dr. Joyce Robinson (HRDPT Faculty) have been granted Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor.

Mr. Rich Tarr (AETM), Mr. Andy Perry (BE), and Ms. Kim Smith (BE) have been promoted to Senior Instructor.

Congratulations to **Dr. Ernie Sheldon (BE Faculty), Dr. Carroll Graham (HRDPT**

COT New Faculty Mentorship Program

COT New Faculty Mentorship Program luncheon was held on Friday, April 29. COT Mentees and their mentors across the university shared their experience and accomplishments. Thank you to below mentees, mentors, and the mentorship taskforce members for their hard and productive work since the initiation of this unique program in Fall 2020.

Mentee

Mark Collins (AVT) Chris Colbert (AVT) Genell Ebbini (BE) Sheikh Ferdous (AETM) Maria Javaid (ECET) Patrick Knight (AVT) Charmaine Mullins-Jaime (BE) Riem Rostom (AETM)

Mentor

Steve Aldrich (Earth and Environmental Systems) Bo McNabb (BE) Jim Speer (Earth and Environmental Systems) Guo Ping Zhang (Chemistry and Physics) Denise Collins (CGPS Dean) Todd Alberts (AETM) Jen Latimer (Earth and Environmental Systems) Kara Harris (AETM)

Mentorship Taskforce Committee

- Molly Hare (Director, Faculty Center for Teaching Excellence)
- Liz Metzger (Director, Office of Sponsored Programs)
- Randy Peters (AETM Chair)
- Troy Allen (AVT Chair)
- Farman Moayed (BE Chair)
- Xiaolong Li (ÉCET Chair)
- Szufang Chuang (HRDPT Chair)
- Christina Cantrell (COT Student Services Director)
- Associate Dean Smallwood, Chair

Engineers Week February 20-26

We kicked off the National Engineers Week on Sunday, February 20, in the Terre Haute Children's Museum, continued with the Sycamore Preview Day on Monday, February 21, a guest speaker, Ms. Vanessa Li, from Novelis, and finalized with the Discover Engineers Girl Day-Female Engineers Panel organized by the ISU Career Center.



Give To Blue Day

The 4th Annual Give to Blue Day was held on March 16, 2022. The College of Technology raised \$61,486 from 138 donors. Thank you to all who participated in Give to Blue Day and supported our students and programs!

Save the Date! The 5th Give to Blue Day will occur on March 22, 2023.



Upcoming Events

- Fall Semester Begins August 16, 2022
- Career Fair September 14, 2022
- Homecoming October 22, 2022
- Commencement December 10, 2022

College of Technology Office of the Dean, Room TC-101 John T. Myers Technology Center 650 Cherry Street | Terre Haute, IN 47809 812-237-3166 | indstate.edu/technology





Share this email:



Manage your preferences | Opt out using TrueRemove® Got this as a forward? Sign up to receive our future emails. View this email online.

Myers Technology Center, Room TC-101 Terre Haute, IN | 47809 US

This email was sent to . To continue receiving our emails, add us to your address book.

emma

Subscribe to our email list.