Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Indiana State University has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) since 1915.

To view ISU's Statement of Affiliation Status on the HLC web site, click on the image below.

State of Indiana Authorization

Indiana State University was established in 1865 by the Indiana General Assembly as the Indiana State Normal School. In 1929, it was renamed Indiana State Teachers College, and in 1961 was renamed Indiana State College. Finally, in 1965, the Indiana General Assembly renamed the institution as Indiana State University. The Indiana Commission of Higher Education has approved the programs offered through the Doctoral Level at Indiana State University and reviews all programs and makes recommendations to the Indiana General Assembly and Governor regarding the funding and disposition of those programs.

Specialized Accreditations

In addition to institutional accreditation conferred by the HLC, many of ISU’s educational programs are accredited by specialized agencies, such as discipline-based organizations and professional associations. Information about the specialized accreditations of ISU’s educational programs can be found at

For more information about our status as an accredited online university, please visit


Indiana State Online Students Residing Outside of Indiana: Each of the states has its own approval processes for out-of-state institutions offering online degrees. While Indiana State University endeavors to offer all of its programs to as wide an audience as possible, all ISU online programs may not be available in all states. Currently, online programs are not offered in the state of Massachusetts. To check the status of programs available in a particular state, visit program availability.

Indiana State University online programs are closed to all students residing in a country other than the United States, including U.S. Territories, or Canada, except U.S. military and State Department personnel and their family members with APO/FPO addresses.