American Association of University Professors


The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. 


What You Should Know about Robert’s Rules:
Or, How to Make Your Meetings Meaningful

by Dr. Tim Hawkins

Wednesday, August 30, 2023 at 1:00 PM

Whitaker Room (UH110G), University Hall

A meeting about meetings.  Seriously?  Remember, you will be expected to attend many of them this year.  You may even be asked to run some.  So, let’s try and make them as productive as possible.  If you are curious about standard meeting procedure, please join us for this review of the main elements of Robert’s Rules of Order, 12th ed., and their application at the department, college, and university levels.  Questions and concerns are welcome.  Still not sure?  Don’t forget the old saying, “They can’t have a meeting without me.”

Anyone may attend the ISU AAUP Forums. You need not be an AAUP member. 


It is also time to join or renew membership with AAUP! Memberships run from 1 September to 31 August. Affiliation with the ISU Chapter of AAUP is $10 to be paid to the ISU AAUP Treasurer Shelley Arvin and does not require or include a national membership. ISU membership lists are unpublished. National AAUP membership information is available at

For further information, contact Shelley Arvin, Treasurer of AAUP~ISU Chapter at or 812-237-2605

To notify the ISU AAUP of any issues relating to academic freedom and shared governance or for more information, please contact Shelley Arvin, Officer of the AAUP~ISU Chapter.