You are here

Teaching Assistants

naureen.jpg

Naureen Aslam

naslam@sycamores.indstate.edu

liz.png

Elizabeth Beilke    

ebeilke@sycamores.indstate.edu

Peyton Blount.jpg

Peyton Blount

pblount@sycamores.indstate.edu

I received my BS in molecular/cellular biology from the University of North Florida. I am currently an MS student in the labs of Dr. Hugo Gante (evolutionary biology) and Dr. Kris Schwab (developmental biology). My thesis is primarily focused on generating fish reporter lines through Tol2-mediated transgenesis and CRISPR-Cas9 knock-outs.

Cleghorn.jpg

Keeley Cleghorn

kcleghorn2@sycamores.indstate.edu

My research is involved in understanding the mechanisms of acquired and maintenance of chemoresistance in a breast cancer cell line. I am particularly interested in the role microtubules play and major pathways involved in chemoresistance.

tazin _.jpg

Tazin Fahmi

tfahmi@sycamores.indstate.edu

sabrina.png

Sabrina Faozia

sfaozia@sycamores.indstate.edu

   I am currently a PhD student under the advisement of Dr. Kyu Hong Cho. I am studying the role of cyclic di-adenosine monophosphate (c-di-AMP) and potassium (K+) transport in SpeB biogenesis in Streptococcus pyogenes. SpeB, one of the major virulence factors of S. pyogenes is controlled by second messenger molecules c-di-AMP. Besides, potassium (K+) plays a vital role in bacterial metabolism and physiology. The aim of this study is to understand how K+ transporters are involved in SpeB biogenesis. 

aj farmer.jpg

AJ Farmer 

afarmer12@sycamores.indstate.edu

I am a PhD student in Biology (Physiology) under Dr. Kristopher Schwab. My current research as a part of Dr. Schwab's lab is studying the epigenetic and genetic regulation of heart development with the main model organism as Drosophila melanogaster.

Razoanul Haque

rhaque@sycamores.indstate.edu

Andrew Kump2.jpg

Andrew Kump 

akump@sycamores.indstate.edu  

I am a Ph.D. student in the lab of Dr. Shaad M. Ahmad. I am researching aspects of cardiogenesis using Drosophila melanogaster as the model organism. My primary research interests are the genetic/molecular pathways involved in cardiac progenitor cell specification, cardiac progenitor cell division, and cytokinesis.

Niladri Mondal2.jpeg

Niladri Mondal

nmondal@sycamores.indstate.edu

 I received my Bachelor’s from Midnapore College in 2017 and Master’s from Vidyasagar University in 2019 with a major in Zoology from India. I joined the Dept. of Biology as a PhD student in Fall 2019 under the supervision of Dr. Hugo Gante. My current research involves using fishes as models to look at different aspects of body size evolution.

 

Danielle Muse

dmuse@sycamores.indstate.edu

manoj photo.jpg

Manoj Panta

mpanta@sycamores.indstate.edu

I am a PhD student in the lab of Dr. Shaad Ahmad. I am currently studying cardiac cell positioning and heart lumen formation, specification and differentiation of cardiac cell subtypes, and cardiovascular physiology. I am also a student member of The Center for Genomic Advocacy.

sarah worthington.png

Sarah Worthington

sworthington1@sycamores.indstate.edu