You are here

About the Mentoring Center

Mission, Vision, and Goals

By providing training and connection to resources in partnership with the Terre Haute community, the Mentoring Center supports the Sycamore Family in creating and maintaining engaged relationships that promote academic, professional, and personal development.

To establish ISU as a community that is committed to supporting mentoring relationships for all.


  • Increase retention
  • Provide access to quality mentoring programs
  • Boost engagement
  • Facilitate training


The Indiana State University Mentoring Center was made possible by a grant from the Department of Education. The center was the result of brainstorming by a large team of students, faculty members, and staff from across the ISU campus who recognized that, though there are many mentoring efforts at ISU, there is often little connection or consistency between them. The grant writing team (Dr. Josh Powers, Dr. Bailey Bridgewater, Dr. Kara Harris, and Dr. Molly Hare) hoped to create a centralized physical space where mentors from all programs could train, meet with students, create connections to the Terre Haute community, and support one another. That space is now The Mentoring Center, on the second floor of the library. Mrs. Ellie Rippy, Ms. Mallory Eilbracht, and Mrs. Jackie Parvin oversee the daily operations of the Mentoring Center, which strives to provide students with the academic, professional, and personal support they need to be successful Sycamores.

Advisory Board

Dr. Andrea Arrington
Pronouns: She/her/hers
Associate Professor, Department of History and the African and African American Studies Program

Mr. Dustin Bryant               
Career Services Coordinator, Career Center

Mr. Cody Dolly         
Pronouns: He/him/his
Recruiting and Advising Coordinator, Bayh College of Education

Dr. Niki Fjeldal
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Director of New Student Transition Programs and University Testing

Dr. Kara S. Harris
Pronouns: She/her/hers
Professor, Bailey College of Engineering and Technology

Ms. Valerie A. Hart-Craig  
Pronouns: She/Hers/Her/Herself
Assistant Director, C.E.B. African American Cultural Center

Dr. Amanda Jo Hobson
Pronouns: They/them/their; she/her/hers      
Interim Dean of Students

Katie Lugar
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Honors College Assistant Director of Student Programming and Leadership

Dr. Zachariah Mathew
Associate Director: Center for Global Engagement

Christa Stultz
Pronouns: She/her/hers
Employer Relations Coordinator: Bailey College of Engineering and Technology, Career Center

Dr. Ryan Van Hoveln
Pronouns: He/him/his
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics

Dr. Aaron Slocum
Pronouns: He/him/his
Director of Equity, Access, Retention, and Mentoring

Mrs. Sadé Walker
Pronouns: She/her/hers
Director of Pathways to Blue


Cunningham Memorial Library
Room 233
510 N 6 1/2 Street
Terre Haute, IN 47809
Phone: (812) 237-3052

Mentoring Center Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8 AM – 8 PM
Friday 8 AM – 5 PM

twitter.png facebook image.png insta icon.jpg