Wilson M. House Memorial M.B.A. Scholarship


  • Must be an ISU student pursuing a graduate degree in the College of Business
  • Must have demonstrated academic achievement
  • Student must have graduated from a high school located in Indiana or a surrounding state.

Donor Profile

The WILSON M. HOUSE MEMORIAL MBA SCHOLARSHIP was established in memory of the late Wilson M. House of Terre Haute. Mr. House was truly a pioneer in the trucking industry--starting with his own House Trucking Company in Terre Haute to chartering the beginning of Eastern Express, Inc., one of the nation's largest motor carriers. He served as president and board chairman of Eastern Express. He sold Eastern in 1969, retired as Eastern's chairman in 1972, and died May 19, 1973.

The House scholarship is given each year to an outstanding MBA student who achieved superior scholarship rank as an undergraduate and who demonstrates potential as a business executive. Preference was originally given to those who indicate an interest in the field of transportation since House was a pioneer in the trucking industry and devoted his entire life to it. House formed his first trucking company in the 1930’s and built it into a business which became Eastern Express Inc., one of the nation’s largest motor carriers. He sold the business in 1969 and retired as board chairman in 1972 to devote full time to other business interests. Following his death in 1973, the memorial scholarship was established with the ISU Foundation by family, friends and business associates of the transportation executive. Dr. Goebel, the then dean of the college, noted the House scholarship was unique in that it was the only scholarship in the School of Business specifically designated for a graduate MBA student.

Past Recipients

  • Daniel Palmer, 2020
  • Christine Balegana, Samantha Montague, Blaine Timonera, 2013
  • No Award, 2012
  • Tucker Johnson, 2011
  • Kasey Hayes, 2009
  • Nina Phipps, 2008
  • Patricia Trifone, 2007
  • Rebecca Shorter, 2006
  • Kyle Plesniak, 2005
  • Jocelyn Eglen, 2004
  • Brogan Baxter, 2003
  • David A. Yelich, 1976

Applications for the scholarships and other awards on these pages should be made through The Branch. Clicking the link will take you to The Branch instruction page.

Scholarships for Business Programs