Welby M. and Frances C. Frantz Scholarship in Business


  • A deserving student enrolled in the College of Business.

Donor Profile

Frances and Welb FrantzWelby Frantz was a trucking industry executive in Terre Haute and a long time advocate and benefactor of higher education. Frances Frantz was a teacher of dance and physical education in Peoria, Ill. prior to the couple’s marriage.

During a nearly 30-year career with Eastern Express, from 1946 to 1975, Welby Frantz built the company into one of the leading motor carriers in the United States. He shared his knowledge of business with Indiana State students as a distinguished executive in residence in the ISU School of Business.

“Welby worked for the same company for nearly 30 years and had a more than 30-year relationship with Indiana State. Welby Frantz knew the meaning of loyalty – loyalty to his business and to his community,” said Donald E. Smith in 2002, a member of  Indiana State University’s Board of Trustees and a long time friend of the Frantzes. 

Smith was president of First Financial Corp., holding company for Terre Haute First National Bank, trustee of the Frantz estate. Cari Sparks, manager of the trust division at Terre Haute First, presented the gift on behalf of the Frantzes.

Frantz served 30 years on the ISU Foundation Board of Directors, 15 years as the board’s president. He also served on the board of directors of Terre Haute First from 1964 until his death in 1996. Frances Frantz died in September 2001. 

In 2002, a $500,000 donation from the Frantz estate was split evenly for scholarships in the couple’s names in the Indiana State School of Business and for student athletes. Welby was born on October 27, 1912 and passed away on September 13, 1996 at age 83

<< Full Story >>

Past Recipients

  • Kaitlyn Atkinson, Hunter Diveley, Brady Fentress, Alissa Glackman, Evan Rudicle, 2020 
  • Corey Maxedon, 2017
  • Kristi Lawson, Robert Mayden, Amanda Perry, Jessica Purdy, Amber Shatto, Jan Weber, 2010
  • Erin Braun, Ashlee Hull, Evan Lunsford, Jonathan Dunham, Megan Upton, Erin Troesch, 2009
  • Evan Lundsford, Mandy Malin, Stephen Persall, Ashlee Hull, Jonathan Dunham, Ryan Wagner, 2008
  • Jonathan Dunham, Yang Feng, Chase Gray, Cara Hutcheson, Jeremy McIntyre, Stephen Piersall, Ryan Wagner, 2007
  • Yang Feng, Cara Hutcheson,Jennifer Mangold, Stephen Piersall, Robert Tichy, Ryan Wagner, 2006
  • Kaitlin Korosi, Jason Moats, Erin Pell, Katherine Trout, Kelly Waite, Rachel Williams, 2005
  • Jason Daseler, Audrey-Joelle Dervain, Diana Lund, Amber Ruisard, Rebecca Shorter, Jamie Lynn Wagner, 2004
  • Jacqueline Winters, 2003
  • Jacqueline Winters, 2002
  • Lorie DeVault, 2001
  • Kent Gordon II, 2000

Applications for the scholarships and other awards on these pages should be made through The Branch. Clicking the link will take you to The Branch instruction page.

Scholarships for Business Programs