Mason-Marketing Education Scholarship


  • Consideration for the scholarship will be given to a marketing major in the Scott College of Business at Indiana State University.

Donor Profile

Ralph MasonRalph Mason - Born on August 7, 1919 in Armington, Illinois, the son of Ralph and Agnes Lorraine (Cross) Mason. He was a 1936 graduate of Armington High School, Armington. Bachelor of Science, Illinois State University, 1940; Master of Science, Northwestern University, 1949; Doctor of Philosophy, University Illinois, 1961. Teacher business, Shelbyville (Illinois) Community Public Schools, 1940-1942, 46-47; coordinator distributive education, director vocational education, Springfield (Illinois) Public Schools. Ralph married Ann Scott Maher on June 9, 1947, and they stayed together until her death on March 6, 2006. 1947-1955; assistant professor to associate professor business education, University of Illinois, 1955-1964; department chairman business distributive education and office administration, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, 1964-1980; professor business, Indiana State University, 1964-1984. Council of Distributive Teacher’s Educational Award in 1975. Indiana Business Education Association Outstanding Business Educator Award, 1981. Caleb Mills Distinguished Teaching Award in 1983. Professor emeritus, Indiana State University, 1984; Member call staff economics, accounting and mathematics Maysville (Kentucky) Community College, 1989. He and his wife had "a Burmese cat who runs the household." Ralph passed away on Friday, December 10, 2010 at the Maysville (KY) Extended Care Facility, aged 91.

He began his career in education that spanned 50 years in Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky, at Shelbyville High School, Shelbyville, Illinois, where he taught business courses. Dr. Mason entered the service of his country during World War II by enlisting in the United States Army on June 4, 1942. He served in the Asiatic-Pacific Theater of operations in India and China, attaining the rank of Master Sergeant in the Signal Corps. He was a recipient of the Bronze Star, the Good Conduct Medal and the World War II Victory medal. He received his honorable discharge from the United States Army December 12, 1945. Upon his separation from military service he returned to teaching at Shelbyville High School. Dr. Mason Continued to pursue his education receiving his Master’s Degree in Business Education from Northwestern University and his Doctorate in Philosophy from the University of Illinois.

In 1964 he joined the faculty of Indiana State University, where he served as a Professor of Business and Distributive Education and Office Administration. During his tenure at Indiana State University he served as a Departmental Chair. His writing and consulting contributions were extensive. Dr. Mason served as a consultant to Vocational High Schools area vocational schools and state boards of Vocational Education. He held offices in professional associations on the state and national level including the Illinois Vocational Association, the Illinois Business Education Association, the Indiana Business Education Association and the National Council for Distributive Education. Dr. Mason was the recipient of the Caleb Mills Award from the College of Business of Indiana State University in 1983.

After his retirement from Indiana State University in 1984 he and his wife returned to her family home and farm near Washington, Mason County, Kentucky. Dr. Mason continued his educational efforts by serving on the faculty of Maysville Community College, teaching business courses. He was involved in a number of community activities serving on the Board of Directors of Hospice of Hope and the Maysville-Mason County Library. He was a dedicated member of Rotary International and a member of the Maysville Rotary Club after moving to Maysville serving as Club Secretary. Dr. Mason and his wife were members of the University of Kentucky Fellows Society. They endowed a number of scholarships in the field of Music Education at the University.

Past Recipients

  • Jairus Smith, Tyler Smith, Madigan Wulff, 2020
  • Josh Alsip, 2018
  • Tricia Hudspeth, 2011

Applications for the scholarships and other awards on these pages should be made through The Branch. Clicking the link will take you to The Branch instruction page.

Scholarships for Business Programs